About the Event

Inis Quartet

Event: Inis Quartet

Inis Quartet

Inis Quartet

236 236 people viewed this event.


Molly O’Shea & Anna Mitchell, violins
Kseniia Yershova, viola
Zoë Nagle, cello


Ludwig van Beethoven [1770-1827]
Quartet No 11 in F minor Op.95 [1810]

  1. Allegro con brio
  2. Allegretto ma non troppo
  3. Allegro assai vivace ma serioso
  4. Larghetto espressivo – Allegretto agitato 

Maurice Ravel [1875–1937]

  1. String Quartet in F major [1902-3]
  2. Moderato très doux
  3. Assez vif – très rythmé
  4. Très lent
  5. Vif et agité

Dmitri Shostakovich [1906-1975]
String Quartet No 9 in E flat major Op. 117 [1964]

  1. Moderato con moto
  2. Adagio
  3. Allegretto
  4. Adagio
  5. Allegro


The Inis Quartet was formed for the 2023 West Cork Chamber Music Festival and also took part in the 2023 ConCorda
summer chamber music course as the National String Quartet Foundation Fellowship Quartet.

Molly O’Shea, violin

Molly O’Shea is a violinist originally from Cork, currently based in Dublin. She completed her BMus in the Cork School of
Music in June of 2019 under the guidance of Ruxandra Petcu-Colan and Liz Charleson, graduating with First Class Honours.
She had spent the previous 3 years studying under Marc Danel at l’Institut de la Musique et de Pedagogie in Namur, Belgium
and graduated with Distinction from a Violin Performance Masters June of 2018. Molly has been a prizewinner in multiple
competitions nationally. In October 2019 she received 2nd prize in the Irish Freemasons Young Musician of the Year
competition and was also the recipient of the Florian Leonhard Fine Instrument Grant and the John Vallery Prize for the
Highest Placed String Player. In 2021, Molly was chosen as one of five young musicians to take part in the University Concert
Hall’s Rising Stars Concert in Limerick.
She currently plays in the first violin section of the National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland and is also working on
“Improvised Landscapes” with writer Luke Cassidy; a project combining spoken word and improvised contemporary violin.

Anna Mitchell, violin

Anna Mitchell is an Irish violinist currently based in Limerick. She is an alumnus of the Young European Strings (YES) School of
Music, where she was a student of Professor Ronald Masin’s for many years. She is now in the final year of her MA in
Classical String Performance at the Irish World Academy, University of Limerick. In 2021, she was awarded the Dún
Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council Emerging Artist Grant along with the RTÉ Lyric FM Scholarship to support her studies
with Dr. Diane Daly. Since she began studying in Limerick, Anna has performed with the Irish Chamber Orchestra on many
occasions. Anna also worked with Opera Workshop in Limerick in 2022 to perform Fiona Linanne’s new site-specific
composition ‘No. 2 Pery Square’, directed by Shirley Keane and Sinead Hayes. She regularly performs with Glasshouse
Ensemble, and has also toured with Irish singer Tommy Fleming.

Kseniia Yershova, viola

Kseniia Yershova is 18 years old and originally from Ukraine. She graduated from the Stolyarsky Lyceum in Odesa (Ukraine)
playing the violin, but she also plays the viola. One and a half years ago, Kseniia and her family had to leave their home in
Ukraine and fate brought them to Ireland. Kseniia is the artistic director of a family quintet with her sisters and also arranges
music. From September, she plans to continue her studies at the Cork School of Music.

Zoë Nagle, cello

22 year old Zoë Nagle is currently pursuing her Bachelor’s degree at the University of Music and Performing Arts Munich,
Germany, in the class of Julian Steckel. She completed her part-time musical studies at the MTU Cork School of Music in
2019, where she was a student of Christopher Marwood, and in 2016, she spent two months studying with Professor
Gotthard Popp at the Robert Schumann Hochschule für Musik in Düsseldorf.
Zoë has performed solo in venues worldwide, including the National Concert Hall in Dublin, the Joseph Kosma Auditorium in
Nice, France, and Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall, New York. Following her debut with the New York Concerti Sinfonietta in
Carnegie Hall, she was praised for “soaring in the lyrical variations in a confident, highly musical performance” of
Tchaikovsky’s Variations on a Rococo Theme (The Epoch Times).
Passionate about chamber music, Zoë has performed in the National String Quartet Foundation’s Chamber Music Gathering
at the National Concert Hall. She currently studies in the chamber music class of Raphaël Merlin (Quatuor Ébène) at the
University of Music and Performing Arts Munich.

Tickets €15.00

Additional Details

Doors Open -

Interval -

To register for this event email your details to chriskenmarebuttermarket@gmail.com

Register using webmail: Gmail / AOL / Yahoo / Outlook


Date And Time

11-08-2023 At 18:00 to
11-08-2023 At 19:50

Event Category

Share With Friends